About WWS

Waterways Watch Society (WWS) is a special, independent volunteer group, bringing people together to love our waters and to inspire stewardship for our environment.

WWS was officially registered as a not-for-profit society with 27 members in 1999; over the years the organisation has expanded to about 500 dedicated and passionate members, with ages ranging between 14 to 70 years, from diverse backgrounds (professionals, students, civil servants, housewives, and retirees) and with multi-racial representation. In 2013, WWS qualified to be an Institution of a Public Character (IPC), a prestigious status that only a few select charities hold, enabling their donors to claim tax relief. WWS started its initial work with boat patrols and has since expanded its activities to include public education at fairs, school programmes, and Clean and Green Week activities. It also routinely participates in World Water Day, World Environment Day, International Coastal Cleanups and the World Water Monitoring Day.

WWS is well-positioned to promote public awareness of conserving, valuing and enjoying Singapore’s water resources while encouraging good social behaviour, translating into reduced litter and pollution of our environment. The Public Utilities Board (PUB), National Environment Agency (NEA) and several other government agencies are key partners of WWS, a recipient of the President’s Environmental Award in 2006. In addition, our founder and then-Chairman Mr Eugene Heng received the same award in an individual capacity in 2014. WWS has also received other environmental awards, such as the PUB Watermark Honorary Award in 2007 and the NEA EcoFriend Award in the same year.

Our Mission

Waterways Watch Society is a special, independent volunteer group, bringing people together to love our waters and to inspire stewardship for our environment.

Goal 1: Aligning our beliefs

Zero waste belief and Zero carbon footprint belief

Goal 2: Our school programmes

To be the Number 1 provider for Environmental Education programmes and
100% students to go through environmental awareness programmes by 2020 (via WWS or other similar programmes)

Goal 3: Our corporate relationships

Having at least 2 repeat programmes with existing corporations till 2020 and Getting 20 new corporations per year till 2020

Our Members

John Joel Seow
Diane Neo
Eddie Lee
Annie Young Giri
Tan Yanping
Ho Lijean
Christina Lye
Ng Poh Peng
Ivan Teo
Tan Tun Phong
Uncle Joe
Joseph Tay
Shawn Tan
Ng Lin Jie
Deborah Sia
Joycelyn Tan
Become a Volunteer

Main Committee 2017 – 2019

CEO Eugene Heng
President Ivan Teo
Vice President Ng Shiang Nee
Secretary Tan Yanping
Treasurer Victoria Lee
Asst Treasurer Low Joo Kek

CEO Profile

Eugene Heng, JP, BBM – Founder & CEO

Mr Eugene Heng, JP, BBM is the founder and CEO of the Waterways Watch Society, and a member of the Public Hygiene Council. Having first being appointed to a Government Parliamentary Committee (GPC) for the Environment in the 1990s, Mr Heng went on to serve in several advisory committees relating to environmental issues in Singapore, including the Water Focus Group, the Policy Study Workgroup on Physical and Environment Sustainability, and the Singapore Green Plan 2012 Coordinating Committee. In 2005, he was awarded the Pingat Bakti Masyarakat (PBM) and subsequently the Bintang Bakti Masyarakat (BBM) in 2015 for his valuable public service. In 2014, he received the President’s… Read more